- Advertisement -spot_img
HomeHealthGermany removes Brazil from virus variant list

Germany removes Brazil from virus variant list

- Advertisement -spot_img

Germany now considers Brazil as a high-risk area instead of previously a virus variant area.

As of Sunday, August 22, Brazilians holding German Visas, including work and student visa holders, are allowed to travel to Germany.

The Robert Koch Institute has removed Brazil and Uruguay from the virus variant area list.

This institute is Germany’s federal government agency of disease control and prevention.

Evidently, this move facilitates entry rules for arrivals from the two countries.

As of Sunday, travelers from Brazil and arriving in Germany are now required to follow these steps:

  • Complete online registration at (einreiseanmeldung.de) and have the confirmation with them upon entry.
  • Upload proof of a negative PCR test result, vaccination certificate or a recovery document to the website (einreiseanmeldung.de).
  • Quarantine for ten days upon entering Germany if a traveler does not provide the previous documents.

“Quarantine can end in each case from the time a traveler submits the negative test result,” the German authorities explained.

Previously, Germany considered Brazil a virus variant area.

Hence, travelers from Brazil have to quarantine for two weeks without the possibility of ending the isolation sooner.

Germany’s decisions

At the moment, there are no countries in the virus variant list.

On August 1, Germany removed all the countries from the list.

The countries were Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa.

However, the RKI has updated the high-risk areas list with more countries, including EU countries, like Dominica, Greece, Ireland, Kosovo and North Macedonia.

For instance, the Crete and South Aegean areas of Greece, the decision goes into effect on Tuesday, August 24.

Whereas, Germany removed some other areas from the high-risk areas list.

The areas are Andorra and Spain’s autonomous communities of Asturias, Castile-La Mancha, Catalonia and Valencia, and the Canary Islands.

Besides, Germany’s decision followed a recommendation from the ECDC to ease entry restrictions for arrivals from Spain.

As revealed, most Spanish areas turned ‘red’ after it was ‘dark red’ on the weekly ECDC map.


- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Stay Connected
Must Read
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img